

BCS Belfast Branch AGM 2016

Date: Tuesday 20th September 2015, 6:30pm

Venue: The Mount, Belfast

Present:

John McCloy, Bill McCluggage, Biodun Badmos, Andrew Burke, Thomas Calvert, John Hewitt, Jonathan Howarth, Anne Johnston, Paul Kingsley, Claire MacManus, Rachel McKane, Gavin McMurray, Lynne McQuitty, Shakti Tripathy, John McCloy, Malcolm Hutchinson

1.0 APOLOGIES

Fiona McCusker, Peter McMahon, David Weir, Paul Kelly, Paul Hanna, Robert McLaughlin, David McFarlane

2.0 MINUTES OF THE 2015 AGM

Lynne McQuitty presented the 2015 AGM minutes and few amendments to the minutes were proposed:

3.0 MATTERS ARISING

There were no matters arising.

4.0 OFFICER'S REPORTS

4.1 Chairman

Bill McCluggage presented the Chairman's Report, copies of which were circulated at the meeting.

Bill reflected on all the branch events held and explained that ITPOY would not be running this year, but will run next year as part of the branch's 60th year anniversary events calendar.

He thanked the committee for all the help and support received during his 3 years as chairman and stated that he would be stepping down.

There were no questions on the Chairman's report.

4.2 Treasurer

Bill McCluggage presented the Treasurer's Report, copies of which were circulated at the meeting.

David the Branch Treasurer has relocated to Spain but is able to carry out finance duties and is available for committee meetings.

There were no questions on the Treasurer's report.

4.3 Membership Secretary

Bill McCluggage presented the Membership Secretary's Report, copies of which were circulated at the meeting.

There were no questions on the Membership Secretary's report.

5.0 ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The Chairman explained the process by which the committee and office holders are elected each vear.

The nominations received by the secretary for office holders and committee were as follows:-

Chair - Rachel McKane MBCS

Vice Chair - Sinead Dillon MBCS

Treasurer - David McFarlane MBCS

Secretary - Lynne McQuitty MBCS

Membership Secretary - Fiona McCusker MBCS CITP

Social Media Officer - Mary-Ellen Gribben MBCS

YPG - Karen Butler MBCS

Publicity Officer - Claire MacManus AMBCS

Event Coordinator - Jonathan Howarth MBCS

School Education Liaison Officer - Mark Newman AMBCS

Student Education Liaison Officer - David Weir FBCS CITP

Industry Liaison Officer - Bill McCluggage FBCS

General Committee Members

Biodun Muhammed Badmos

(Vice Treasurer) Peter McMahon MBCS CITP

Paul Kelly MBCS CITP

Paul Hanna MBCS CITP

Honorary Committee Members

John McCloy FBCS CITP

Robert McLaughlin CHON

James Uhomoibhi FBCS CITP

John McCloy proposed to accept the nominations and John Hewitt seconded the proposal, therefore the new committee members were appointed.

6.0 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

A branch member questioned if using the Ramada, Shaw Bridge for events has had any effect on event attendance. Bill responded that this location had suited a lot of members but the committee would consider alternative venues for events.

R McKane L McQuitty

CHAIR SECRETARY