

Chester & North Wales Branch

Annual General Meeting 2013 At Urban Resort St David's Park

MINUTES

1 WELCOME

Chair - Garfield Southall Minute taker - Paul D Murphy

Attendees: -

Joan Millington, Paul D Murphy, Tom Charnley, John Neary, Charles Ryder, Duncan Stewart, Vic Grout, Garfield Southall, Martin Kendall, Robert Hellen, Peter Greenwood, David Hatton, Stan Foxall, Gordon Thackray, Helene Searle-Jones, Robert Gittens, Shaun Roberts, Peter Excell, Stuart Cunningham, Zed Spencer-Milnes.

2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Les Pritchard, David Lloyd-Williams, Stephen Harrison, Alistair Hughes.

3 MINUTES OF LAST AGM

Approved

4 MATTERS ARISING

None

5 REPORTS

5.1 Chair's Annual Report (Garfield Southall)

Thanked committee for their work then discussed "What BCS means to you".

5.2 Treasurer Report (Tom Charnley)

- 1. Year End Finance: The Branch allocation excluding for Student Prizes and Membership was £728.00 of which only £254.94 was used for Branch business on 2012 AGM Expenses, part event catering at Glyndwr University and Speaker expenses at the event.
- 2. For the coming year a request was submitted, based on similar budget figures to the previous year, with a reduction of only three pounds. This was approved without change by BCS Finance Committee.
- 3. Although allocated under various expenditure categories, we have the ability to move resources around as we need and this year, a substantial part of the allocation has already been set aside to fund the AGM, the October event, to be held at St David's Hotel and an event to be held later in the year.
- 4. Should we need to fund additional events, we will need to use the Supplementary Funding Process but this means giving at least eight weeks of notice for BCS approval. We will also have to provide a cast-iron screed to ensure that we get the money.



Chester & North Wales Branch

6 ELECTION OF OFFICERS

All committee members were happy to serve again 2013 - 2014

The three account signatories: -Chair - Garfield Southall (*unanimous re-elected*) Treasurer - Tom Charnley (*unanimous re-elected*) Secretary - Paul D Murphy (*no vote required*)

Committee members – Stuart Cunningham, Phil Evans, Rob Gittins, Vic Grout, John M Kewley, Les Pritchard, Charles Ryder, Helen J Searle-Jones, Karen Vickers.

Branches Congress Representative is Garfield Southall. Email co-ordinators are Paul D Murphy, Vic Grout, Les Pritchard and Karen M Vickers.

7 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

We discussed the need for more site visits.

.

We approved our support for the Create IT project (helping students find voluntary and charitable IT as a value source of experience in mutually beneficial arrangements).

--- Our formal business was closed ---

8 KEY NOTE SPEAKER – Vic Grout – The 'Internet of Things'

---- End ----