MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held at 6.15 pm on Thursday 20th October 2011 in the Stoddart Building, Arundel Gate, Sheffield Hallam University

Present

Mr S Hartley, Dr R Shafiq, Dr M Beer, Mr G Whitelaw, Mr C Gray, Dr C Smythe, Mr C Brookes, Mr L Tipi, plus: 20 BCS members

1. Apologies

None received

2. Minutes of meeting of 21st October 2010

Accepted

3. Chairman's Report

Mr Hartley summarised the report and commented on another successful year for the branch with eight events organised (December was cancelled due to heavy snow) and with an average attendance of 50 people per event. We held a joint event with the IET, Richard Stormont, Open Source that over 200 people attended in March.

To read the report go to http://sy.bcs.org/ branch/data/SYBCS 2011 Chairs Report.pdf

4. Treasurer's Report

Dr Beer presented a summary of the accounts for from to 31 August 2010 to 31st August 2011. We had an allocation is £5,000 that included £392 for student prizes, we actually spent £4,372, being 13% underspent.

Catering continues to be the major cost, particularly as room and equipment hire in the University is relatively low for the sorts of facilities that are on offer.

The 2011-12 budget is £5,000 including student prizes, which is almost exactly the same as this year and your committee expect to run a similar programme of events as last year.

A financial summary report will be posted to the web site.

5. Comments from Members from the Floor

One member wanted to thank the committee on behalf of the other members for the events and efforts during the last year.

6. Election of Officers for 2011/2012

The three officers recommended by the outgoing committee:

Chairman:	Dr R Shafiq	
Treasurer:	Dr M Beer	
Secretary:	Mr L. Tipi	

And were duly elected.

7. Election of Committee Members

The following offered themselves for re-election to the committee and were elected:

C Smythe (2008), C Brookes (2008), N Bizzell (2008), S Hartley

Note the following are existing members of the committee who do not come up for election till 3 years after their last election date (in brackets)

G Whitelaw (2010), C Gray (2010)

8. Co-option onto Committee

The Officers of the committee wished to co-opt Mr D Rotherham, from The Training Foundry at Sheffield Hallam University onto the committee, which was agreed.

9. Any Other Business

Student Prize Presentations did not take place as the students did not attend the meeting –

BCS Elliot Chiat Prize for the best 2nd year student at the University of Sheffield – ALAIN SAUL – Mcomp in Computer Studies.

BCS Professional Development prize is awarded to ASSAD PARVEL, BSc Honours in Business Information Studies at Sheffield Hallam University.

The student names will be published in the minutes of the next committee minutes.

There was no other business and the meeting closed at 6.25pm

10. Date of next AGM

Thursday 18th October 2012 at 6.15pm

BCS South Yorkshire Committee members and 3 year cycle for elections:

Name	Date last elected	Date to re-elect	Role
Rukhsar Shafiq	Officer	Every Year	Chair
Martin Beer	Officer	Every Year	Treasurer
Lucian Tipi	Officer	Every year	Secretary
Neil Bizzell	May 2009	October 2012	
Chris Gray	October 2010	October 2013	Web & Catering
Gavin Whitelaw	October 2010	October 2013	YPG
Steve Hartley	October 2011	October 2014	
Colin Brookes	October 2011	October 2014	Professional Liaison
Colin Smythe	October 2011	October 2014	Meetings
Dave Rotherham	Co-optee	Every Year	Venues