SOUTH YORKSHIRE BCS 2019 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday **17th October 2019** at **6.15 pm** in Room 9130 CANTOR Building, City Campus, Sheffield Hallam University

NOTE: The location is Room 9130, Cantor Building, City Campus, SHU

Present Mr A Shaw, Dr M Beer, Mr Mike Hall, Dr M Shahidan, Dr S Zargari

1. Apologies

E Barabas

2. Minutes of Annual General Meeting of 18th October 2018

Accepted

3. Chairman's Report

Mr Shaw summarised the report and commented on a successful year for the branch with seven events organised (December and January did not go ahead due to low turnout numbers on previous years) and with an average attendance of 28 people per event, which was higher than 15 people per event in the previous year. Also Steelcon was a successful event, in which we were a sponsor. The South Yorkshire BCS also sponsored the Sheffield Startup weekend event, as well as an event run by the Women in Tech society in Sheffield to inspire girls to consider careers in the IT Industry as part of Ada Lovelace day.

4. Treasurer's Report (Available at meeting)

Dr Beer presented a summary of the finances report from the branch.

5. Comments from Members from the Floor

Comments were received from the floor, one student was asking how frequent the events the South Yorkshire BCS branch were. Another BCS member asked about the objectives the South Yorkshire BCS branch had, and mentioned about advertising in places like libraries to increase attendance at our events as the events were interesting, however some people may not be aware they are taking place. A Shaw mentioned he was happy to share objectives set each year with the member.

6. Election of officers for the Year 2018/2019

The Branch Committee recommend the following officers:

- Chair A.Shaw (Proposed: E.Barabas, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Vice-Chair E.Barabas (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Treasurer M.Beer (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)
- Secretary E.Barabas (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)

And all were duly elected

7. Election of Committee members for the Year 2019/2020*

The following offer themselves for re-election to the committee:

G Whitelaw - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)

L Tipi - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)

M Shahidan - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: E.Barabas)

The following offer themselves for election to the committee:

M Hall - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)

G Callaghan - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: C.Smythe)

S Zargari - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded: E.Barabas)

I Stenton - (Proposed: A.Shaw, Seconded:)

Note the following are existing members of the committee who do not come up for election till 3 years after their last election date (in brackets)

C Smythe (2017), C Brookes (2017), N Bizzell (2017), C Gray (2017)

8. Any Other Business

- Student Prize Presentation BCS Elliot Chiat Prize for the best 2nd year student at the University of Sheffield Jack Ashurst Computer Science University of Sheffield;
- BCS Professional Development prize is awarded TBA.

9. Date of Next Meeting 15th October, 2020

^{*} Committee members are elected for a three year period and existing ordinary committee members elected at the 2016 AGM retire this year. For clarity, all current committee members are listed, so members have a list of the whole committee.