Wilkes Award

This year, we are pleased to announce two winners for the Wilkes Award for volume 59 of The Computer Journal. Both papers are now available FREE online.

The winning papers are:

About the Wilkes Award

The Wilkes Award is given for the best paper published in a volume of The Computer Journal. It is awarded each year to the author or authors of one paper appearing in the previous volume (year).

The Wilkes Award is named after Sir Maurice Wilkes, who was Director of the Cambridge Computer Laboratory throughout the whole development of stored program computers starting with EDSAC; inventor of labels, macros and microprogramming; with David Wheeler and Stanley Gill, the inventor of a programming system based on subroutines.

Criteria for the Award are originality and quality of theme and treatment. The judgment is made by the Editorial Board.

The Award consists of £150 purchase vouchers from Oxford University Press and a certificate for the winner.

Panel members

  • Prof. Mostafa A. Bassiouni, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science-Computer Science Division, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Prof. Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini, Dipartimento di Informatica, Universita' di Torino, Italy
  • Prof. Fairouz Kamareddine, School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Prof. Steve Furnell, School of Computing, Electronics and Mathematics, Plymouth University, UK

Previous winners
The Computer Journal