Choosing the right registration 

The summary below gives an overview of each registration, to help you select the one(s) best suited to your skills, experience and career aspirations.
  • Chartered IT Professional

    Chartered IT Professional (CITP)

    The scope of IT is very broad and applicants for CITP may be involved in a wide variety of roles.

    Through experience in IT and computing applicants for CITP need to be able to demonstrate having undertaken a range of challenging and complex work activities, where they have had full accountability and exercised significant influence and responsibility, and that they have well-developed business skills.

    Demonstrating Current Competence

    All CITP registrants undertake to maintain and develop their knowledge and skills in the IT profession by keeping a record of professional development.  The evidence that they have complied with this requirement, and are up to date in their area of IT specialism, is evidenced by a Certificate of Current Competence.

    Find out more about Chartered IT Professional

  • Chartered Scientist

    Chartered Scientist (CSci)

    CSci applicants will typically be working in a role demanding skills equivalent to SFIA Level 5 involving innovation in computer science and will usually have a background in areas such as artificial intelligence, algorithm design, bio-inspired computing, cognitive science, game theory, web science or health informatics.

    Applicants will need a Masters degree in a relevant subject or equivalent, as well as at least 4 years working in an appropriate area.

    Find out more about Chartered Scientist

  • Chartered Engineer

    Chartered Engineer (CEng)

    CEng applicants will usually be working in a role demanding skills equivalent to SFIA level 5 in software engineering, networks and communications, hardware systems development, web services or advancing the development of mobile systems.

    Chartered Engineers have the ability to develop solutions to engineering problems using new or existing technologies, through innovation, creativity and change. They may also pioneer new engineering services and management methods.

    The educational requirement for CEng status is a relevant accredited Masters Degree or equivalent, plus experience in a suitably supportive and relevant work environment. 

    Find out more about Chartered Engineer

  • Incorporated Engineer

    Incorporated Engineer (IEng)

    Typically working in a role demanding skills equivalent to SFIA Level 5, involving the application of established hardware or software engineering, IEng status can be obtained by those who maintain and /or support engineering activities. 

    Incorporated Engineers typically manage applications of current technology and are engaged in technical and commercial management and planning for effective project implementation.

    The educational requirement for the IEng status is a relevant accredited Bachelors degree or equivalent plus professional development and experience in a relevant work environment.

    Find out more about Incorporated Engineer