Latest finalists announced for IT Professional Awards

26 June 2003

BCS has announced the finalists for the individual excellence award categories of the IT Professional Awards.

A large number of entries were received for the Individual Excellence Awards of which there are nine categories ranging from Young IT Practitioner of the Year to the Lifetime Achievement award. Winners of all categories will be announced and awards presented before an audience of more than 700 IT professionals and VIP guests at the Awards Gala Dinner at London's Park Lane Hilton on 24 September.

BCS Chief Executive David Clarke said, "BCS has been recognising outstanding achievement in IT for more than 30 years through its Information Technology Awards, and since the early 1990s through its separate Management Awards programme. In 2003, we brought these two programmes together to form the IT Professional Awards which I believe will generate even greater recognition of British IT achievement."

The finalists for the individual excellence awards are:

  • Young IT Practitioner of the Year, sponsored by Brodeur Worldwide:
    James Bailey - Eclipse Internet; Richard Clayton - B Mason & Sons; Steven Henderson - Royal Bank of Scotland Group; David Hewitt - James Hamilton Group

  • IT Trainer of the Year:
    Alastair Hill - SIA Limited; David Wheeler - QA; Jit Parmer - Informatics Group UK; Dominic Betts - Parity Training

  • IT Consultant of the Year:
    Colin Butcher - XDelta; Graham Oakes - Sapient; Gill Hunt - Hunt Lancaster; Rob Willetts - Retail Assist

  • IT Director of the Year Award, in association with The Institute of Directors and sponsored by Robert Walters:
    David Ebbitt - PremierLine Direct; Keith Nicholson - MacRoberts Solicitors; Karl North - Hilton UK and Ireland; John White - Royal Bank of Scotland

  • Quality Manager:
    Nick Mundy - Zurich Financial Services; Kevin Martin - IX Europe

  • Business Analyst:
    Mark Jessop - McDonald's Restaurants; Ian Milburn - Royal Bank of Scotland; Alex Black - Royal Bank of Scotland

  • IT Developer of the Year - Applications, sponsored by the DTI:
    Paul Shepherd - Buro Happold; Trevor Ward - DLogical; Juan Herrero - Arup; James Heydon - Zurich Financial Services

  • IT Developer of the Year Award - Infrastructure:
    Ken Boyd - Royal Bank of Scotland Group; Paul McBrierty - Royal Bank of Scotland Group; Mark Orford - Liverpool Direct; Nigel Reed - IBM UK

  • The Marval IT Service Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by The Marval Group:
    Ann Davies - Zurich Financial Services; Graham Downes - Royal Bank of Scotland Group; Roger Bannister - Retail Assist; Brendan McDermott - Liverpool Direct

  • Lifetime Achievement - sponsored by Syntegra:
    There are no finalists for this category. The winner will be announced on the night of the awards. Finalists for the Business Achievement and Technology categories will be announced in August.

For further details, contact Nisha Mukhey at Quest Media on 020 7234 8711 or via email at

For further information please contact the BCS Press Office.