The British Computer Society South Wales Branch

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the South Wales Branch held on Thursday 20th May 2004 at The Queen's Building, School of Engineering, University of Wales, Cardiff.

1 Apologies

Steve Harvey, Nathan Cooper, Jason Mullins

2 Minutes of Last Year's Meeting

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 8thMay 2003 were accepted.

3 Chairman's Report

The Chairman thanked every one for attending this meeting and for their support during the year. He reported on the Programme of Events, which had been varied, interesting and of high quality. As proposed at the last AGM, the Committee had considered all the Events, and attendees' responses to them, with a view to selecting the best one for the new Ted Stuart Award. The Committee had selected, for the Award, the December 2003 Event, held with the Cardiff Business School, "The CEO and CIO working together" where the Vice Chancellor (Dr David Grant) and Director of Information Systems (Mr Martin Harrow) debated the issues. The February Event, where Nigel Bruton spoke on "Justifying the IT Service" was also highly commended and in close run second place. It is planned that The Ted Stuart Award will be presented at the September Event.

The Chairman thanked the Committee for their hard work in arranging and supporting the Programme of Events, which had been very successful. The rolling programme on the Branch Website had proved very helpful in reducing the risks associated with a programme card published some eighteen months in advance.

The Chairman thanked Steve Harvey, for managing the Accounts, and who was hoping to return to his active role as soon as possible following the illness of his new daughter

Noel Cox had announced his retirement from the Committee after many years of service. Since joining the Branch in 1967, he had twice been Chairman, Treasurer for six years, and Membership Secretary for twenty years. The Chairman paid special tribute to Noel, thanked him for all his hard work, wished him well in the future and proposed that a BCS Long Service Award would be made at a later date.

The Chairman thanked Jason Mullins, who was standing for election as Membership Secretary, and would carry on his work as Webmaster, and Ralph Miller for his work as Secretary

The chairman welcomed new members for election to the committee, Steve Wood and Dave Edwards. All new volunteers to help on the Branch would be welcomed

4 Treasurer's Report

The Chairman gave this report, in Steve Harvey's absence. The report was accepted.

5 Election of Committee

Chairman – Paul Bulmer was returning for his second year of a second term.

Secretary – Ralph Miller was returning for his second year.

Treasurer – Steve Harvey was returning for his second year.

Membership Secretary and Web Master - Jason Mullins, proposed by Noel Cox, seconded by Derek Smith.

Committee Member – Steve Wood proposed by Jason Mullins and seconded by Ralph Miller. Committee Member - Dave Edwards proposed by Jeremy White and seconded by Derek Smith.

6 Any Other Business

There was no further business so the Chairman declared the meeting closed.