BCS IT user qualifications accredited in Scotland

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT now have a number of their popular IT user qualifications accredited on the SCQF.

What is the SCQF?

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (the Framework) promotes lifelong learning in Scotland. Through the Framework you can find out about all mainstream qualifications in Scotland and plan your future learning. The Framework supports everyone in Scotland, including learning providers and employers, by:

  • helping people of all ages and circumstances to get access to appropriate education and training so they can meet their full potential
  • helping employers, learners and the general public to understand the full range of Scottish qualifications, how qualifications relate to each other and to other forms of learning, and how different types of qualification can contribute to improving the skills of the workforce

SCQF website

What does this mean to centres?


  • Recognises learners achievement
  • National recognition
  • Contributes to school attainment tables

What do you need to do?

When ordering registrations from BCS, select the SCQF version of the qualification, to ensure your learners receive the relevant certificate. Delivery and assessment of the programmes remain the same.

Which qualifications are accredited?


The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is the internationally recognised qualification for computer users.

ECDL improves learners’ understanding of computers and promotes efficient use of software. The course opens up a variety of opportunities through the broad range of skills it provides. The qualification is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with IT.

SCQF Qualification Reference Number SCQF Course Title SCQF Level SCQF Points ILA Funding
(SCQF Level 5)
5 37 Y
ECDL Essentials
(SCQF Level 4)
11 Y
ECDL Extra
(SCQF Level 5)
5 26 Y
ECDL Advanced - Database
(SCQF Level 6)
Improving productivity using IT
(SCQF Level 6)
6 9 Y
ECDL Advanced - Presentation
(SCQF Level 6)
6 9 Y
ECDL Advanced - Spreadsheet
(SCQF Level 6)
6 9 Y
ECDL Advanced - Word Processing
(SCQF Level 6)
6 9 Y
ECDL Advanced (5 units)
(SCQF Level 6)
6 45 Y

About ECDL

Getting Started

These qualifications give you the basics to start using you computer effectively.

SCQF Qualification Reference Number SCQF Course Title SCQF Level SCQF Points ILA Funding
Computer and Online Basics
(SCQF Level 3)
3 5
Online Basics
(SCQF Level 3)
Digital Skills
(SCQF Level 4)

About Digital Skills
About Computer and Online Basics


The new qualification shaping the future of e-safety teaching in schools.

SCQF Qualification Reference Number SCQF Course Title SCQF Level SCQF Points ILA Funding
(SCQF Level 3)
3 4

About e-safety

Qualification withdrawal
Please note that following a review of our qualifications portfolio, we will be withdrawing some of our qualifications between now and December 2018. Please click on the link below for information on the full list of qualifications that we are withdrawing. If you have any questions regarding the qualifications that are being withdrawn, then we are happy to discuss it with you. Full contact details can also be found by clicking the link.
Changes to our qualifications portfolio

ILA funding

Find out more about ILA funding for BCS qualifications at www.ilascotland.org.uk

BCS accredited qualifications on the SCQF

Click the link below to view our SCQF accredited qualifications and where they sit on the framework.

Scotland IT User Qualifications Portfolio