Fellowship criteria 

Fellowship is our senior grade of Professional membership. All applicants must be able to demonstrate leadership in the profession by influencing significant numbers of professionals and/or others to achieve common goals, understanding or views within the IT profession. You will have two supporters ready to verify your professional standing and you are likely to have a minimum five years’ experience and must be able to demonstrate at least one of the following:
  • Eminence

    An eminent individual will be recognised and acknowledged across the IT community for their leadership.

    They should have wide knowledge or expertise in a particular field and have made a significant contribution to advancing the knowledge and understanding of one or more specialisms identified in SFIA. Normally an eminent individual would have a substantial and respected record of publication and public speaking. Examples of this include:

    • having written several influential books within the sphere of IT
    • being the author of a number of papers within a particular area of IT which advance knowledge and understanding of that specialism.
    • having given a number of public lectures on a defined Information Technology topic
    • successful recognition as, for example, an expert witness, arbitrator or consultant
  • Authority

    An authoritative individual is recognised and respected for their knowledge and expertise which may be in a particular specialism. This may be demonstrated by:

    • exercising influence over persons who are not directly under the applicant's control in the areas of system and organisational developments
    • recognition for the development of a technique which has become widely used
    • significant involvement in technical or professional information technology committees, such as national or international standards committees, or professional bodies including the Institute, in either a technical or a professional capacity.
    • A senior technical position with few or no staff reporting directly but clearly exercising significant influence.
  • Seniority

    BCS uses the IT skills competency standard SFIA at Level 7 to define Seniority. It is described in terms of Autonomy, Influence, Complexity and Business Skills. Applicants must be at SFIA Level 7 in each of the competencies to follow this route.

    Within the Seniority category an individual is considered to be at a senior level where they possess IT responsibility for an area. An individual should be able to demonstrate a clear career progression to this position and have held it for several years. Some possible examples may be:

    • managing a team of over 50 people of whom at least 20 should be at MBCS standard (or equivalent)
    • in the Civil Service holding an IT position typically at Senior Principal / Principal or higher in local government at Principal Officer or higher
    • holding a post in a higher education establishment equivalent to that of Senior Lecturer teaching IT to undergraduate degree level
    • a Consultant in an organisation working for major clients

    Find out more about the definitions of responsibility at SFIA level 7

Join now


"To me, a fellowship is not a destination but more a recognition of the journey you have taken. On that journey, we look to see how you have advanced your professional career, assisted your peers and given back to the industry. We look at how people regard you and the contribution you make. Fellowship is about influencing others and helping them on their journey. It is about leadership, not just seniority."
Simon Roller FBCS CITP, Fellowship Assessor