Annual General Meeting - Summary Report

Thursday 18 May 2000

The Board Room, Moorfields Eye Hospital, City Road, London, EC1V 2CD

The 2000 Annual General meeting of the BCS London Medical Specialist Group took place on Thursday 18 May 2000 at 6pm


All of the officers had completed two of their three year terms of office and had indicated their willingness to remain in office. There being no other nominations there was no requirement for an election and the postholders were confirmed as:

Chairman Neville Vincent
Treasurer David Hancorn
Secretary Andrew Capey

Keith Clough had completed two of his five year term as Honorary President and as there were no other nominations he was confirmed in post.


Election of Committee Members (8)

The Executive Committee members seeking re-election were:

Mark Buckley-Sharp
Brian Layzell (Newsletter Editor)
Colin Nolder
Diane Nolder
Peter Westcott (Membership Secretary)

lan Shepherd had resigned and John Rowson had decided not to seek re-election.

Delia MacMillan had been co-opted after last year's AGM as Website Editor.
She was the only person formally nominated to the Executive Committee for this year.

Therefore there were two further vacancies and in the absence of any other nominations, the five current members plus Delia MacMillan were confirmed and

Simon Midlane and
Barry Winnard were elected from the floor.

Co-opted Members (3)

The constitution allows for up to three co-opted members to the Executive Committee. Currently none of these had been filled.

Ex officio Members

There were two ex officio members of the Executive Committee:

Keith Clough as Honorary President
Dr John S Bryden as Chairholder of the BCS' Health Informatics Committee.