Date: Tuesday 30 October 2012

Time: 7.00pm - 7.30pm

Location: WI-LR13, Wilberforce Building, University of Hull

iCalendar IconiCalendar format


I have pleasure in drawing your attention to the Annual General Meeting of the BCS Humberside branch, which will be held on Tuesday 30 October 2012 at the University of Hull, commencing at 7.00pm (usually lasting about 15 minutes).

I would be grateful if you could make every effort to attend this important event in our calendar.


  1. Apologies for Absence
  2. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 25/10/11
  3. Chair's report
  4. Treasurer's Report
  5. Election of Committee 
  6. Any Other Business

Copies of the last AGM minutes and officers’ reports will be distributed at the AGM. To facilitate members that are unable to attend, the secretary shall, on request, be pleased to forward copies of these documents. The last AGM minutes are on the branch website. The Officers' reports will be added after the meeting.

Your branch committee needs your support to continue in its work for all members. We need new committee members to help us run our events as in previous years. We would be grateful for all nominations to join the committee using the forms included. The work is not onerous. We keep committee meetings brief and infrequent. Our main task is devising an interesting programme for the membership. What can you to do help?

Nominations are sought for the offices of:

  • Chair
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer

Also for general membership of the committee.

The previous year’s committee is listed in full below. The positions marked with an asterisk (*) will become vacant, to be filled at this AGM from nominations received.

Please note that nominations for the election of chair, secretary and treasurer must be signed by two branch members and lodged with the secretary (Nick Smith, 4 Cherry Trees, Skidby, HU16 5UB. Email: fourteen days before the date fixed for the Annual General Meeting; that is by 16 October 2012. The consent of the nominee must be lodged with the nomination.

Nomination form (DOC)

Last year's committee:


Role Name Role
*Brian Tompsett
Chair *Nick Smith Secretary
*Bryony Booth Treasurer/Webmaster *Allan Carswell

Membership Secretary

*Paul Brayford Committee
*Mark Norman Committee Member

At 7.30pm following the AGM, there will be a Chair’s invitation lecture.