AGM & Anatomy of a Red Team Attack

Thursday 20 October 2016, 5.30pm - 7.30pm

Room 7140, Stoddart Building, City Campus, Sheffield Hallam University, Howard Street, Sheffield, S1 1WB

Harman Singh - Security Consultant, Defendza
Arjun Pednekar - Security Consultant, Defendza


Defendza will share their experience in performing offensive security assessments on the client infrastructure. This includes zero to hero style compromise of an entire organisation, where attack is performed from the internet and gaining the shell is only the beginning. This talk would take you through a journey of different stages of the attacker’s mind-set including phishing the credentials, performing internal reconnaissance, beating your much loved Anti-viruses lateral movement and dumping the password hashes of entire organisation. This is brought to you by professional hackers with several years of experience hacking into big organisations, summed up with a quick discussion on the defences to show you both sides of the fence.


Harman Singh and Arjun Pednekar are both security consultants at Defendza who carry more than 10 years of professional experience in varying areas of cyber security across the banking, retail, gambling, local govts, healthcare and ecommerce. Their expertise lies in infrastructure, web, mobile and device security areas. Harman Singh was also a security class trainer at Black Hat USA 2015. More details can be found at our website, or

Timetable for the Evening

5:30-6:30 Finger buffet & tea/coffee

6:15-6:30 AGM

6:30-7:15 Seminar

7:15-7:30 Question & Answer session


1. Apologies
2. Minutes of Annual General Meeting of 15th October 2015 (Available at meeting)
3. Chairman's Report (Available at meeting)
4. Treasurer's Report ( Available at meeting)
5. Comments from Members from the Floor
6. Election of officers for the Year 2016/2017

The Branch Committee recommend the following officers:

  • Chairman - Chris Gray (Proposed: L.Tipi, Seconded: C.Smythe)
  • Treasurer - Martin Beer (Proposed: L.Tipi, Seconded: C.Smythe)
  • Secretary - Lucian Tip (Proposed: M.Beer, Seconded: C.Smythe)

7. Election of Committee members for the Year 2016/2017*

The following offer themselves for re-election to the committee:

  • G Whitelaw (2013) - (Proposed: C.Gray, Seconded: L.Tipi)

Note the following are existing members of the committee who do not come up for election till 3 years after their last election date (in brackets)

  • E.Barabas (2015)
  • A.Shaw (2015)
  • M.Shahidan (2015)
  • C Smythe (2014)
  • C Brookes (2014)
  • N Bizzell (2014)

8. Any Other Business

  • Student Prize Presentation - BCS Elliot Chiat Prize for the best 2nd year student at the University of Sheffield - TBA;
  • BCS Professional Development prize is awarded - TBA.