Awards Committee

The Awards Committee has responsibility to seek the nominations of individuals - or submissions of work - on an annual, scheduled basis, for such awards.

The committee manages the review and selection processes and all the activities associated with the assignment of the awards to the selected recipients. The current members of the Awards Committee are:

  • Prof Philippa Gardner FBCS, Imperial College London, Program Verification, Chair of the Awards Committee
  • Prof James Davenport, FBCS, Bath University, Computer Algebra, Chair of the BCS Academy of Computing Board
  • Julia Adamson, Director of Academy, BCS
  • Donia Scott, University of Sussex, Computational Linguistics
  • Prof Muffy Calder OBE FRS FREng, Glasgow University
  • Prof Steve Furber CBE FRS FREng, University of Manchester, Hardware, Lovelace medal winner
  • Dr Martin Sadler OBE, HP, Security
  • Prof Mike Wooldridge FBCS, Head of Computer Science, University of Oxford, Artificial Intelligence