AGM: New President takes office

4 November 2009

At BCS's AGM on 4 November Elizabeth Sparrow and Bob Assirati stepped into their positions of BCS President and BCS Deputy President respectively.

Elizabeth Sparrow said she has her sights set on ensuring that the Institute achieves its vision to be a world-class organisation for IT. Elizabeth’s theme for the year will focus on transformation. This follows the Institute’s recent announcement of a raft of new initiatives. 

'We have set out on a journey that will lead to a sustained period of change for the Institute through the coming year and beyond, and I will be heavily involved in projects that aim to fulfil our new mission to enable the information society. Today’s economy is built on knowledge and it’s on our ability to process, share and manage information that our society thrives or dies.

'At the heart of our activities lies a commitment to professionalism. We believe that all those working in IT and computing, practitioners, academics and researchers, need to become an effective integrated profession and the Institute is well placed to lead that development.

'We are also committed to increasing public confidence in IT and helping people become more active participants in the information society. I will focus on four specific projects, which will be announced throughout the year, to help everyone make better use of information in their lives.'

Bob Assirati is a former Commercial Director for the IT division at the Inland Revenue and Chief Executive at the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency. Bob has been a member of the BCS Nominations Committee, Government Relations Group, and Engineering and Technology Strategic Panel as well as the Products and Services Board, of which he was appointed Vice-President in October 2007.

Mary Clarkson was re-elected Vice-President of Finance and other Vice-President’s positions remain unchanged.

Also announced at the AGM were the results of the elections to the advisory Council. Those elected by the Professional Membership are, in alphabetical order, Chris Andrews, Sue Black, Mike Cullen and Wayne Horkan. The Branches constituency elected Kevin Chamberlain and Iain Thompson. The Forums constituency elected Wendy Hall. The Specialist Groups constituency elected Adrian Williamson and Terry Freedman.