Super-connected cities given boost in Autumn Statement


Chancellor George Osborne has released a list of 12 locations that are to set to join the UK's network of so-called super-connected cities, with funding for the project outlined in his Autumn Statement.

Initial plans for the programme were announced in this year's March budget, when Mr Osborne pledged £100 million to enable ten major UK cities – including London, Manchester, Cardiff and Birmingham – to become super-connected, with speeds of 80Mbps being promised to homes and businesses.

Culture secretary Maria Miller says the extra £50 now being pledged to expand the project will help put Britain 'at the centre of the digital stage' and at the forefront of 'the global race', although local authorities will still be required to put some of their own cash into the scheme as well as seeking private investment.

The 12 new cities to be included in the project are Aberdeen, Brighton and Hove, Cambridge, Coventry, Derby, Derry, Newport, Oxford, Perth, Portsmouth, Salford and York.