President Obama honours BCS Distinguished Fellow

Charlie Bachman DistFBCS has been awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation as President Obama honours the US’s top scientists and innovators.

United States of America President Obama has announced a new class of recipients of the National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the US’s highest honours for achievement and leadership in advancing the fields of science and technology. The new awardees will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later this year.

‘These scholars and innovators have expanded our understanding of the world, made invaluable contributions to their fields, and helped improve countless lives,’ President Obama said. ‘Our nation has been enriched by their achievements, and by all the scientists and technologists across America dedicated to discovery, inquiry, and invention.’

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, the Medal recognises individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering.

The President receives nominations from a committee of Presidential appointees based on their extraordinary knowledge in and contributions to chemistry, engineering, computing, mathematics, and the biological, behavioural/social and physical sciences.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was created by statute in 1980 and is administered for the White House by the US Department of Commerce’s Patent and Trademark Office.

The award recognises those who have made lasting contributions to America’s competitiveness and quality of life and helped strengthen the nation’s technological workforce. A distinguished independent committee representing the private and public sectors submits recommendations to the President.