BCS Past President and Fellows Celebrate Royal Honours

23 June 2017

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT is delighted that a number of its members were recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Past president Dame Stephanie ‘Steve’ Shirley has been made a member of Order of the Companions of Honour for services to the IT industry and philanthropy. Dame Shirley was President of BCS from 1989 to 1990. She was awarded an OBE in 1980 for services to industry and a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) in 2000 for services to the IT industry.

The Companion of Honour is a special award granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government lasting over a long period of time. The members, of which there are 65 at any one time, currently include actress Dame Maggie Smith, Lord Coe, Stephen Hawking, John Major and Desmond Tutu.

Dame Shirley was also awarded Honoris Causa Doctor of Science degree at Cambridge University on 21 June.

Three other BCS Fellows have also received recognition for their work:

Professor Bill Buchanan, Head of Edinburgh Napier University’s Cyber Academy has received an OBE. Prof Buchanan, from the School of Computing, has been recognised for his services to cyber security and innovation.

Dr Andrew Harter - the Chair of Cambridge Network - has been awarded a CBE for notable and sustained contributions to engineering. He will present the 2018 Turing Lectures. (BCS and The Institution of Engineering and Technology established the Turing Lecture in 1999 in honour and recognition of Turing's contribution to the field of computing.)

Professor Tom Crick - BCS Vice-President (Promotion of Computing), and Professor of Computer Science & Public Policy at Cardiff Metropolitan University, has been appointed a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE) for ‘services to computer science and the promotion of computer science education.’