Important notice regarding this qualification:

If you would like to take this exam please ensure you do so by 28 February 2020, 5pm GMT. BCS will no longer offer this certification after this date.

Who is it for?

  • This certification is ideal for generalist IT professionals and managers with some experience in IT service management. It will be beneficial to anyone involved in managing IT assets (both hardware and software), vendor compliance, risk and business continuity.
  • Roles include IT manager, risk manager and procurement manager.

Entry requirements

  • None. Training with an accredited training provider is recommended.

What will I learn?

  • Candidates should be able to demonstrate knowledge and understanding of IT asset management principles and techniques.
  • Holders of the BCS EXIN ITAMOrg Foundation Certificate in IT Asset Management (ITAM) will be able to demonstrate their understanding of:

    • Hardware asset management, including ‘mobile devices’
    • Software asset management
    • Services and cloud asset management
    • People and information asset management, including ‘bring your own device’

The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours:

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last three days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

Exam only (self study)

Ideal if you’re self-motivated and already know something about IT asset management.

How long will it take?

It usually takes a minimum of 18 hours to prepare for the exam.

Where do I sit my exam?

At any Pearson VUE test centre across the world.

How much does it cost?

Exam price: £192 (£160.00 + VAT)

Book your exam

What format is the exam?

  • One hour 'closed book' with 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

What's next?

Specialist level certifications

Candidates who successfully achieve a pass in this BCS EXIN ITAMOrg Foundation Certificate may wish to consider specialising by taking the BCS EXIN ITAMOrg Specialist Certificate in Software Asset Management which will give a broader understanding of the application of SAM methodologies.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.