Who is it for?

  • Any professional who have a more strategic role to play in PPSO functions.

Entry requirements

  • All candidates should have a basic working knowledge of IT and are required to hold the BCS PSSO Essentials qualification already and attendance to a BCS accredited course is recommended.
  • All candidates must have three years practical PPSO experience using PRINCE2 methodology and 10 days training experience or hold a train the trainer qualification.

What will I learn?

  • Candidates should be able to demonstrate and execute advanced programme and project office support, including:

    • Producing terms of reference for the programme / project support office.
    • Produce the business case for the programme / project support office.
    • Design the programme / project support office.
    • Set and maintain service level agreements for business level and project level services.
    • Demonstrate the ability to tailor / apply PSO Advanced techniques to a given scenario (programme and project lifecycles or support tools, as examples).
    • Keeping the PSO current.


The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours, plus a recommended reading list:

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last 32 hours.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

What format is the exam?

  • Two hour 'closed book' scenario-based exam, preceded by 15 minutes reading time
  • One mandatory question and any other two questions from the remaining three
  • Pass mark for question one is 30 marks and overall 50% or more

Download guidance for written exam candidates (PDF)

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.