# Minutes of the BCS Nursing Specialist Group AGM

## Thursday 26 May 2022

Includes a presentation by Frances Beadle, Chair of the BCS Nursing Specialist Group, and National Clinical Informatics Lead (Nursing) on

Standardisation and implementation of the Welsh Nursing Care Record

#### 2021-22 Committee

Frances Beadle	Chair	
Maggie Lay	Treasurer & Inclusion Officer	
Annette Gilmore	Member	
Dawn Dowding	Member	
Nick Hardiker	Member	
Ian Woodburn	Member	

#### Presentation on the Welsh Nursing Care Record

Frances Beadle (FB) gave an overview with anecdotes on the Welsh Nursing Care Record project, which won the 2021 Best Health Sector IT Project of the Year at the UK IT Industry Awards. The Welsh Nursing Care Record is a programme driven by nurses for nurses.

## Chair's Q&A

- FB answered a question on AI nothing will ever replace clinical decisions but it can help identify risks and will make sure AI is fit for practice
- FB responded to a comment on the Welsh Nursing Care Record that third sector nurses are not currently part of it but may take on her project's advice

## **AGM Proceedings**

FB invited delegates to view the published Chair's report and outlined some of the highlights:

- A 'nursing terminologies' project with BCS, RCN and other organisations
- FB represented BCS on the International Medical Informatics Association
- BCS Nursing Specialist Group hosted a roundtable prior to the disruption of 2020, identifying digital priorities approved by the Chief Nursing Officers of other countries
- FB informed the group that no budget was submitted to BCS but funding can be requested from the Health & Care Executive.
- FB promoted the BCS Health & Care Executive FEDIP-accredited CPD webinars.

FB announced the vacant positions and following a voting process, the posts were filled as follows:

#### 2022-23 Committee

Frances Beadle	Chair	6 votes in favour, elected
Maggie Lay	Treasurer & Inclusion	TBC
	Officer	
Annette Gilmore	Member	Remaining in post
Dawn Dowding	Member	Remaining in post
Nick Hardiker	Member	Remaining in post
Sharon Levy	Inclusion Officer	5 votes in favour, elected
Sian Perry	Member	Co-opted