Minutes of the BCS IRSG Annual General Meeting

23 November 2022

By Zoom Video Conference and In person

Present

Udo Kruschwitz [UK] (Chair), Tony Russell-Rose [TRR] (Vice-Chair), Ingo Frommholz [IF] (Treasurer), Steve Zimmerman [SZ] (Secretary), Haiming Liu [HL], Graham McDonald [GM], Jochen Leidner [JL], Martin White, Sean MacAvaney, Yashar Moshfeghi [YM], Frank Hopfgartner, René Kriegler

The meeting opened at 18:35 (due to technical issues)

1. Welcome from the Chair

The chair welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the meeting held on 24 November 2021 were approved unanimously, and there were no matters arising.

3. Committee Member Reports

3.1. Chair's report

UK reported on the IRSG activities over the past year:

- Search Solutions 2021 was again held online (and he was pleased to see Search Solutions 2022 coming back to the BCS London office today).
- ECIR 2022 was a very successful hybrid event in Stavanger with a very strong in-person presence (as reported in more detail in Informer and SIGIR Forum). Thanks go to the organising team chaired by Krisztian Balog and colleagues.
- ICTIR was co-located with SIGIR 2022.
- FDIA 2022 was another successful event with IRSG involvement, chaired by IF, YM and HL. This was co-located with ESSIR 2022.
- The Karen Spärck Jones Award 2021 went to Ivan Vulić (Cambridge University) who
 gave a well-received keynote talk at ECIR 2022. It was noted that in future the
 keynote is planned to alternate between ECIR and EACL (starting with EACL 2024). An
 agreement about this has been arranged by JL, the current panel chair. Microsoft
 Research was thanked for continued support of the award. This year's award winner
 will be announced in December.
- The winner of the Tony Kent Strix Award 2022 will also be announced soon. There
 was no award in 2021. This award is jointly organised by UKeIG and CILIP with the
 IRSG also on the panel.
- The chair is not aware of any long-term service awards this year.
- This year was the third time that the Industry Impact Award (sponsored by Signal AI)
 has been awarded at ECIR. The winning ECIR 2022 paper was "Ensemble Model
 Compression for Fast and Energy-Efficient Ranking on FPGAs" by Veronica Gil-Costa,
 Fernando Loor, Romina Molina, Franco Maria Nardini, Raffaele Perego and Salvatore
 Trani.
- The group's Informer newsletter continues to be run under the leadership of Martin White, and the chair thanks him alongside Steve Zimmerman and Tony Russell-Rose who support Martin. Next year we will be moving from a quarterly newsletter to only two issues a year.
- The chair was very pleased to announce that the University of Glasgow bid to host

ECIR 2024 was successful and we are looking forward to a great conference with three general co-chairs: GM, Craig Macdonald and ladh Ounis.

3.2. Treasurer's Report

3.2.1. Financial Year 2021/2022

Search Solutions 2021:

Registration fees income £655.33 (last year: £1,057.63)

Speaker expenses £600

Note Search Solutions 2021 was online only (except 1 tutorial), with reduced fees.

Sponsorship

ECIR 2022 Industry Award: £1,000 (from Signal) KSJ Award £2,500 (from Microsoft)

FDIA/ESSIR £1,000

Total Income: £4,157.33 Total Expenditure: £5,924.25

3.2.2. Financial Year 2022/2023

Budget: £2,709.37 – subject to Search Solutions 2022 income. Additional funding can be released with Supplementary Funding Requests (SFRs). SFRs are in general required for each funding request. SFRs are required two months before expenditure.

4. Elections

A Call for Nominations for the Chair, the Treasurer, Membership Secretary and three ordinary members of the committee was issued in October.

Udo Kruschwitz was nominated as Chair by Tony Russell-Rose and Ingo Frommholz. Ingo Frommholz was nominated as Treasurer by Udo Kruschwitz and Haiming Liu. Haiming Liu was nominated as Membership Secretary by Steven Zimmerman and Tony Russell-Rose.

Three ordinary members were nominated as well, these are: Sean MacAvaney (nominated by Craig Macdonald, seconded by Iadh Ounis), Monica Paramita (nominated by Frank Hopfgartner, seconded by Martin White) and David Rau (nominated by Jochen Leidner, seconded by Steven Zimmerman)

As all nominations were unopposed, everyone was duly elected into these roles.

This meant the committee (with terms in brackets) was now:

Officers

Chair: Udo Kruschwitz (2024)

Vice Chair: Tony Russell-Rose (2023) Secretary: Steven Zimmerman (2023) Treasurer: Ingo Frommholz (2024)

Membership Secretary: Haiming Liu (2024) Inclusion Officer: Yashar Moshfeghi (2023)

Early Careers Advocate: Graham McDonald (2023)

Events Coordinator: Jochen Leidner (2023)

Members

- Frank Hopfgartner (2023)
- Monica Paramita (2024)
- Sean MacAvaney (2024)
- David Rau (2024)
- Krisztian Balog (ECIR 2022)
- Annalina Caputo (ECIR 2023)

The chair thanked the outgoing member of the committee, Fabrizio Sebastiani (as ECIR 2021 rep), for his contributions.

5. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

The meeting closed at 19:20 (London).

6. Actions Arising From Meeting

Action Number	Action	Action on
Nov 23.01	There was some discussion about the Karen-Spärck-Jones (KSJ) award not being broadcast enough during the conferences. Add this + discussion around KSJ video recording to January committee Agenda	UK
Nov 23.02	Update/correct slide 23 (new committee members)	UK