2019 key criteria

We are looking to recognise the individuals among the UK IT community who have demonstrated excellence in their profession during the past 12 months. The awards seek to reward individuals at all levels of an organisation who have contributed to the development and deployment of innovative IT systems that improve business operations or enhance public services.

The awards in this category will be judged against four key criteria:

  • It should be noted that SFIA is used by the BCS as a reference for skills assessment.
  • For each of these four criteria, entrants should explain in up to 500 words (maximum) how they meet each criterion, plus provide a 250-word (maximum) summary of why they believe they should win the award.
  • Each entry, therefore, requires five sections detailing achievements against each of the four criteria above (up to 500 words each), plus the summary of success statement (up to 250 words). There is also an 80-word overview of the application needed which may be used for publicity purposes.

Enter the 2019 UK IT Industry Awards

Entries can be submitted by IT vendors nominating their customers or employees, from companies / public bodies, or from individuals wishing to recognise either their own or their colleagues efforts.

2019 awards

The awards in the Personal Excellence category are:

Business Analyst of the Year

Awarded to an individual responsible for the definition of requirements and solutions for improving business processes and systems, reducing their costs, enhancing their sustainability, and quantifying potential business benefits. They may also conduct methodical investigation, analysis, review and documentation of business functions and processes.

CIO of the Year

Awarded to a CIO, IT director or other board-level IT executive. The winner will be an individual who has consistently demonstrated excellence in leadership, innovation and quality in the use and promotion of IT in their organisation to deliver business growth or public services.  The size of the organisation is immaterial.

Inspirational Individual of the Year

A judges’ award for an individual who has been a source of inspiration for others working in IT, whether for a specific contribution in the year, or for continued contribution to UK IT. A particular attention will be paid to those who have inspired change and / or provided thought leadership in a societally beneficial area such as inclusion or sustainability.

IT Apprentice of the Year

Awarded to an individual who is participating in an IT apprenticeship programme that involves part-time formal study to gain IT qualifications, together with paid work experience to enhance skill and understanding. The apprenticeship must be on-going in March 2019.

IT Service and Support Professional of the Year

Awarded to an individual providing IT service, support or training to users of IT systems, who has demonstrated outstanding achievement and commitment, meeting key objectives for quality, customer satisfaction and delivery of agreed service levels.  This category covers areas such as training, help desk, information content development or project support. The award is open to all staff - not just senior management - to ensure the full range of IT skills is recognised.

Operational Leader

Awarded to an individual operationally responsible for any aspect of IT delivery but especially roles in areas such as Business Analysis, Security & Governance, project / programme management or Consultancy. They will have delivered and evidenced tangible benefit to their organisation, meeting key objectives for budget, timescales and service

Rising Star of the Year

Awarded to an IT professional under the age of 30, or who turns 30 in 2019, in any discipline, who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and achievement in their work, and through their quality and professionalism stands out in their organisation as a high performer in the application and management of IT. Credit will be given for high achievement early in the career, but those in an apprentice programme should enter the IT Apprentice of the Year category.