Who is it for?

Anyone who is involved in the areas of information security and information assurance.

Entry requirements

There are no formal entry requirements however, the candidate will require an understanding of information assurance. It is recommended that candidates attend an accredited training course.

What will I learn?

Candidates should be able to demonstrate:

  • How the management of information risk will bring about significant business benefits.
  • How to explain and make full use of information risk management terminology.
  • How to conduct threat and vulnerability assessments, business impact analyses and risk assessments.
  • The principles of controls and risk treatment.
  • How to present the results in a format which will form the basis of a risk treatment plan.
  • The use of information classification schemes.

The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours, plus a recommended reading list:

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

How do I get this qualification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally lastĀ five days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

What format is the exam?

  • Type: A scenario-based online exam that includes a range of question types including multiple choice, multiple response, fill in the blanks, ordering and matching questions.
  • Duration: 90 minutes
  • Supervised: Yes (invigilated exam)
  • Open book: No (no materials can be taken into the examination room)
  • Pass mark: 65/100 (65%)
  • Delivery: Digital format only.

What's next?

CCP assured service

If you work or are considering working in a cyber security / information assurance role, we run a Certified Cyber Professional (CCP) assured service.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.