Branch committee

The Berkshire Branch is run by a committee elected at the branch AGM in September. Committee members with specialist skills are also co-opted from time to time. A Council of un-elected volunteers also brings additional skills and support. Everyone is eligible for election at the next AGM. If you want to work on the committee or council then contact the Chair.


We meet at 7.30 pm on the first Tuesday of every month. Our next meeting is as follows:

  • 3 October 2017 - Park House School, Andover Road, Newbury, RG14 6NQ.

Branch officers

The committee consists of three officers (Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer), and at least three other members. Any branch member is eligible to stand for election to the committee but, as handling of branch members’ personal data is restricted to professional BCS members for legal reasons, only professional BCS members may be elected as branch officers. The current officers of the Berkshire branch are:

Committee members

  • Communications Manager: Dan Cope
  • Events Manager & BCS ELITE: Mike Buckland
  • Volunteers Co-ordinator: Tony Levene
  • Young Professionals Group Lead: Dan Cope
  • Education Liaison: Dan Sydes (UTC Reading)
    • Planet Informatics Lead: Lauren Hofmann (Reading University - Henley Business School)
    • Co-President & Welfare Officer, Student Chapter - Glenn Healy (RUCES)
    • Co-President & Events Manager, Student Chapter - Jules Gribble (RUCES)
    • Secretary, Student Chapter - James Wells (RUCES)
    • Treasurer, Student Chapter - Alastair Miller (RUCES)

Without portfolio:


The Committee and Council share electronic documents to help organise the Branch. They also have access to a secure committee area linked from the BCS members’ login.