Prizes and Awards

This section contains details of prizes and awards organised by the Primary Health Care Specialist Group.

Early Career / Student Award

The PHCSG Early Career/Student Award recognises innovation and excellence in Primary Care Computing. It will be awarded to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the subject.

Read more about the Early Career / Student Award

John Perry Prize

The John Perry Prize has been awarded most years since 1985, to many others who have pioneered the implementation of novel computing systems in general practice, and with whom John would be proud to have been associated.

Read more about the John Perry Prize

News and events


Release of BCS PHCSG discussion paper on the future or replacement of MIQUEST once GP systems migrate from Read Code & CTV3 to SNOMED-CT.

Prizes and Awards

The winner of the 2016 John Perry Prize was Dr Neil Paul for work on Apex - a General Practice Business Intelligence Tool

The winner of the 2016 Early Career Award was Dr Nazmul Akunjee for Chronic disease care plans and clinical templates

2016 Highly Commended for the Early Career Award Richard Williams for S.M.A.S.H