Awards and Competitions

Woman smiling

UK IT Industry Awards
The UK IT Industry Awards are the benchmark for excellence throughout the computer industry.

Lovelace Medal
The Medal is presented to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the understanding or advancement of Computing.

Roger Needham Award
This award is made annually for a distinguished research contribution in computer science by a UK based researcher who has completed up to 10 years of post-doctoral research.

Distinguished Dissertation
The Conference of Professors and Heads of Computing (CPHC), in conjunction with the BCS, annually selects for publication the best British PhD/DPhil dissertations in computer science.

Karen Burt Award
This Award commemorates the life of Dr Karen Burt who encouraged women to take up chartered status and to promote the engineering profession.

Wilkes Award
The Wilkes Awards is given for the best paper published in a volume of The Computer Journal.