Key information - Award

Qualification Name:

BCS Level 3 Award in IT User Skills


QAN (Accreditation Number):

Qualification Aim:
The level 3 Award allows learners to demonstrate their ability in a shorter course in areas chosen from the range of ITQ units shown below.

This ITQ qualification will develop IT expertise to be used in further learning, leisure and employment.

The flexibility of the ITQ enables the course of study to be adapted to meet the learner’s specific needs or interests.

Level 3 unit achievement can be carried into a level 3 Certificate or Diploma, rewarding attainment and encouraging progression.

Unit credit from the internationally recognised ECDL qualification may be incorporated into this ITQ.


Facts and figures
Accreditation number
NQF level
Guided learning hours 85-95
LSC funding code 50061793
Accredited for age groups 16-18, 18+
Performance points 42
Percentage to threshold 16% towards Level 1 / Level 2
10% towards Level 3
Credit value 12
Qualification renewal date


Qualification structure

Minimum credit value
Maximum credit value
Mandatory unit

Optional units
Two-thirds of optional unit credits at the level of the qualification

Minimum 8 credits at Level 3
Sector-specific units

ITQ units



Manual, evidence-based or automated testing options are available.


Who is this qualification appropriate for?

  • 16-18
  • 18+
  • NEETs