ECDL Essentials 

ECDL Essentials is an excellent introduction to the world of technology. The units cover getting started on a computer, email and the internet, with a particular focus on how they are used safely and productively. ECDL Essentials is accredited on both the QCF (England and Wales) and SCQF (Scotland) framework.
  • The units

    ECDL Essentials units
    IT user fundamentals Builds the learner’s confidence by teaching basic interaction with computers, from start-up to productive use and basic computer housekeeping.
    Using email and the internet Helps the learner understand how to use internet and email in a safe and secure way, explaining key terms and developing fundamental knowledge of computer security.
    Security for IT users Provides the learner with an essential understanding of how to use a computer in a safe and secure manner, protecting their own data as well as that of other users.
    QCF: Level 1 ITQ award

    Content for the IT User Fundamentals and Using Email and the Internet units has been updated as part of our New ECDL programme.

  • Information for centres

    ECDL LogoQualification Name:

    BCS Level 1 Award in IT User Skills (ECDL Essentials)


    QAN (Accreditation Number):

    Qualification Aim:
    The aim of this qualification is to recognise the application of a range of IT user skills and knowledge in the workplace, meeting employer workforce demands.

    ECDL Essentials is a fixed combination, focusing on improving a learner’s understanding of computers by covering the fundamentals of IT, security and using email and the internet. This achievement can be used towards a flexible level 1 certificate or towards higher level qualifications such as a level 2 certificate or diploma.




    Facts and figures
    Accreditation number
    QCF level
    Guided learning hours
    LSC funding code 50062268
    Accredited for age groups Pre-16, 16-18, 18+
    Percentage to threshold 10% towards Level 1
    QCF credit value 9
    Qualification renewal date   
    Sector skills council
    e-Skills UK


    Unit titles:

    Mandatory units

    • Using email*
    • Using the internet*
    • IT security for users
    • IT user fundamentals
    *The BCS ITQ combines Using email and Using the internet into a single test, covering the content of both ITQ units.



    Manual or automated testing options are available.


    Who is this qualification appropriate for?

    • Pre-16
    • 16-18
    • 18+
    • NEETs
    • On FL catalogue
    • ALR funding available