Key information - Award

Qualification Name:

BCS Level 2 Award in IT User Skills


QAN (Accreditation Number):

Qualification Aim:
The level 2 Award allows learners to demonstrate their ability in areas chosen from the range of ITQ units shown below.

This ITQ will develop understanding and build confidence in the use of IT across further learning, leisure and employment.

The flexibility of the ITQ will enable the learner’s course of study to be adapted to meet their specific needs or interests.

Level 2 unit achievements can be carried into a level 2 Certificate or Diploma, or credit can be used towards level 3 qualifications, rewarding attainment and encouraging each learner to progress.

Units from the internationally recognised ECDL qualification may be incorporated into this ITQ.


Facts and figures
Accreditation number
NQF level
Guided learning hours 70-75
LSC funding code 5006275X
Accredited for age groups Pre-16, 16-18, 18+
Performance points 23
Percentage to threshold 10% towards Level 1 / Level 2
Credit value 10
Qualification renewal date


Qualification structure

Minimum credit value
Maximum credit value
Mandatory unit

Optional units
Two-thirds of optional unit credits at the level of the qualification

Minimum 7 credits at Level 2
Sector-specific units

ITQ units



Manual, evidence-based or automated testing options are available.


Who is this qualification appropriate for?

  • Pre-16
  • 16-18
  • 18+
  • NEETs
Qualification withdrawal
Please note that following a review of our qualifications portfolio, we will be withdrawing some of our qualifications between now and December 2018. Please click on the link below for information on the full list of qualifications that we are withdrawing. If you have any questions regarding the qualifications that are being withdrawn, then we are happy to discuss it with you. Full contact details can also be found by clicking the link.
Changes to our qualifications portfolio