ECDL units and qualifications

ECDL is available at three levels, from absolute beginner to advanced user. The qualification can be tailored at each level to meet your specific requirements. Each qualification is made up of a combination of the units in the table below.

Your local BCS centre will be able to provide more information about specific combinations and their availability.

Word processing Presentations Improving productivity
Spreadsheets Databases IT user fundamentals
IT security
Internet and email
Online collaboration
Project planning

Learner brochure

Using a computer effectively is now an essential skill - at home, at college, at university or at work.
Download the brochure

Find a BCS centre

Locate your nearest training centre
Use our find a centre tool to locate one of our 1500 centres. All our centres are BCS approved, so you can be assured they're using competent tutors, comprehensive learning materials and approved syllabus, all in a highly effective learning environment.

Locate your nearest training centre

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT is the only ECDL licensee in the UK. We are approved by the ECDL Foundation to operate in the UK, Falkland Isles, Jersey, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, and Tristan da Cunha.