The award consists of a cheque for £150 accompanied by a framed certificate. In addition, each student receives a voucher which entitles them to claim free student membership of the BCS for the remainder of their undergraduate studies.

The awards are given in memory of Tazmmal Husein who died suddenly on 8th May 2001 at the age of 43. Tazmmal Husein was a highly regarded, efficient and enthusiastic officer of BCS Birmingham branch.

Serving as Secretary of the Birmingham branch for the three years preceding his untimely death, Tazmmal had also in the latter part of this period combined this role with that of Education Liaison Officer.

As Education Liaison Officer of the branch a major concern of his had been to encourage greater student interest in the BCS and as such he was an active participant in the branch committee’s plans to provide student awards for excellence in computing.

After Tazmmal’s death the BCS Branches Management Committee granted BCS Birmingham branch the necessary approval and funding to enable an annual student ward to be given at each of the three universities in Birmingham.

The branch also obtained the kind permission of Tazmmal’s widow, Karen and other members of his family to name each of these awards “The Tazmmal Husein Memorial Award for student excellence in computing” in honour of a branch Secretary whose hard work and cheerful friendship was greatly missed.

The first awards were presented in late 2002 and early 2003 at Birmingham City, Birmingham and Aston universities. Similar awards have subsequently been presented at the three universities on an annual basis.

The prize winners for 2019/2020 are:

  • Jan Dubrowski, University of Birmingham
  • Natasja Hopkins, Birmingham City University
  • Kieran Broomhall, Aston University