Katie MaclureChair
Dr Katie Maclure, PhD MSc BSc (Hons) DipSysPrac PgCert FBCS FEDIPAdvPrac Former SRPharmS AFHEA

Katie is an experienced digital health and health inequalities researcher with a background in IT. An active member of BCS Aberdeen Branch committee as Education Liaison Officer for many years. A former Lecturer in Computing, Procedures Analyst, latterly Senior Research Fellow and Lecturer with RGU School of Pharmacy & Life Sciences, and still supervising several PhD students. Katie represents BCS Health & Care on the Scottish Government led annual DigiFest and The Alliance led Discover Digital conferences. Deputy Editor on BCS BMJ HCI and Academic Editor with PlosOne and Accreditation Assessor with FED-IP. Katie is now working as an independent research consultant.

Outside of work, I run a Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Group in Aberdeenshire.

LinkedIn profile
ORCID profile

Sharon LevyTreasurer
Sharon Levy, MBCS

Sharon is the current treasurer and immediate past Chair of BCS Health and Care Scotland. He is a registered nurse working as a research and development lead in a Third Sector organisation and as an educator at the University of Edinburgh. Sharon has a long history in nursing informatics and digital health as a clinical informatician and as an active researcher. When he is not working Sharon is playing on the Xbox with his wife and 3 children.

Early Careers Advocate
Elena BeratarbideDr. Elena Beratarbide, MeHealth, IEng, BComp, BBA, CISA, DPO

During the last decade, Elena has been working with the National Health Service (Scotland) to raise strategic alignment and eHealth governance maturity by redesigning information and ICT services, implementing continual improvement plans and demonstrating eHealth benefits.

The last few years, Elena has developed the Scottish Information Sharing Toolkit, National guidelines and code of practice for better information governance and security across health and social care organisations in complex data sharing landscapes, and is a key member of the working group commissioned for the development of the National IG programme.

She is a former IT consultant and security auditor for the former Touché & Ross (now Deloitte), KPMG and Fujitsu.

Elena is also an active eHealth researcher in collaboration with St. Andrew’s University (Scotland, UK), Polytechnical University of Valencia (Spain), Capella University (USA), Middlesex University (UK), the NHS Scotland and EHTEL (European Health Telematics Association, Brussels).

Follow Elena on Twitter

Inclusion Officer
Becky Hunter

Committee members

  • Margaret Moore
  • Elgar Finlay
  • Keith Quinn
  • Nicola Henderson
  • Kingsley Oturu