Who is it for?

  • This certificate is ideal for anyone involved with IT architecture, including those new to the profession.

Entry requirements

  • As this course introduces you to the fundamentals of IT architecture, you don’t need any previous experience or qualifications.

What will I learn?

After completing the certificate, you’ll understand:

  • The meaning of IT architecture and the different levels within it
  • Different kinds of IT architects and the roles they play in IT and information systems
  • How architecture fits into the broader business context
  • Architecture precursors: goals, directives, and constraints
  • Architecture development process and description frameworks
  • The subdomains of enterprise and solution architecture, and their purpose
  • The key activities carried out in each subdomain, and the related artefacts

The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours, plus a recommended reading list.

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

Download our latest specimen paper (PDF)

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last three days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

Exam only (self study)

Ideal if you’re self-motivated and already know something IT architecture.

How do I book an exam?

Call +44 (0)1793 417417 to book your exam

How long will it take?

It usually takes a minimum of 18 hours to prepare for the exam.

How do I sit the exam?

If you're studying for this qualification without a training provider you can sit this exam directly with BCS or at any Pearson VUE test centre across the world.

How much does it cost?

UK price: £228 (£190 + VAT).
International prices may vary by region, please check international pricing via our Customer Service team.

Contact us on +44 (0)1793 417417

What format is the exam?

  • One hour 'closed book' with 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

What's next?

Specialist Architecture Awards

Our range of BCS Specialist Architecture Awards supports you to develop your knowledge and specialise in areas from enterprise architecture to cloud and infrastructure architecture. Or you can skip straight to our Practitioner Certificate.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.