Who is it for?

  • This award is ideal if you have general architecture experience and want to increase your knowledge in a specialist area.

Entry requirements

You need one of the following to take this course:

  • BCS Foundation Certificate in Architecture Concepts and Domains
  • A current TOGAF 9 or TOGAF 10 level 2 certificate

You should have at least three years’ experience in information systems or IT, including some involvement with architecture.

What will I learn?

This qualification lets you specialise in your field of interest by choosing from one of the five awards below.

Enterprise architecture award

As an enterprise architect, you’ll bring organisational strategy to life by aligning IT solutions with business objectives. You’ll make innovation possible while ensuring that change is both efficient and effective. And just as importantly, you will make sure the organisation’s IT infrastructure can grow and adapt as the business evolves.

This award will help you:

  • Explain the role of enterprise architecture and analyse existing capabilities and areas for improvement within the organisation
  • Assess and manage stakeholder relationships
  • Support business strategy and plan towards objectives
  • Understand enterprise architecture in the context of the wider organisation
  • Carry out key enterprise architecture activities
  • Apply the appropriate governance

Download our syllabus (PDF)
Download our specimen paper (PDF)
Download our answer sheet (PDF)

Solution architecture award

Solution architects devise and implement solutions that tackle an organisation’s needs, problems, and opportunities. In this role, you’ll play a vital part in achieving business strategy and averting major risks.

This award will help you:

  • Explain the role of solution architecture and be able to analyse problems, risks, opportunities, and solutions within the organisation
  • Consider the relationships between different architecture domains as well as different teams and stakeholders within the organisation
  • Carry out key solution architecture activities
  • Build and analyse the requirements and identify constraints
  • Apply appropriate governance when making decisions
  • Use change management techniques to improve processes and artefacts

Download our syllabus (PDF)
Download our specimen paper (PDF)
Download our answer sheet (PDF)

Data architecture award

Data architects design and manage data infrastructure. As a specialist, you’ll provide stakeholders with high-quality data they can use to make informed decisions that contribute to business success.

This award will help you:

  • Explain the role of data architecture and how it supports organisational strategy
  • Analyse the relationship between data architecture and other architecture domains
  • Carry out key data architecture activities
  • Assess data requirements, data maturity, and how data is used
  • Understand how data and artefacts should be governed

Download our syllabus (PDF)
Download our specimen paper (PDF)
Download our answer sheet (PDF)

Cloud infrastructure architecture award

A cloud infrastructure architect is responsible for establishing a strategic framework to optimise IT sources, enhance performance, improve scalability, and mitigate security threats. Cloud infrastructure architecture defines the design and structure of an organisation’s technological foundation.

This award will help you demonstrate a practical understanding of:

  • The role of cloud infrastructure architecture.
  • The relationship of cloud infrastructure architecture to other domains.
  • The activities undertaken by cloud infrastructure architects.
  • Cloud infrastructure architecture: skills and knowledge.
  • How cloud infrastructure architecture is governed.

Download our syllabus (PDF)
Download our specimen paper and answers (PDF)

Security architecture award

Security architecture is a sub domain within enterprise architecture which focuses the security of structures, processes, and technology necessary to protect assets, data, and systems,

from threats and risks. This certification will give candidates an in-depth understanding of the role of a security architect and the activities undertaken by them.

This award will help you demonstrate a practical understanding of:

  • The role of security architecture.
  • The relationship between security architecture and the other architecture domains.
  • The skills and knowledge required by security architects.
  • The activities undertaken by security architects.
  • Security architecture governance and decision-making processes.

Download our syllabus (PDF)
Download our specimen paper and answers (PDF)

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last three days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Providers coming soon

Exam only (self study)

Ideal if you’re self-motivated and already know a bit about IT architecture.

How do I book an exam?

Call +44 (0)1793 417417 to book your exam

How long will it take?

It usually takes a minimum of 17 hours to prepare for the exam.

How do I sit the exam?

If you're studying for this qualification without a training provider you can sit this exam directly with BCS.

How much does it cost?

UK price: £78 (£65 + VAT).
International prices may vary by region, please check international pricing via our Customer Service team.

Contact us on +44 (0)1793 417417

What format is the exam?

  • 30 minutes 'closed book' with 20 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (13/20)

What's next?

Practitioner level certifications

The BCS Practitioner Certificate in Enterprise and Solution Architecture will take candidates to the next level and enhance skills and knowledge across the entire discipline.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.