Key information - Award

Qualification Name:

BCS Level 1 Award in IT User Skills


QAN (Accreditation Number):

Qualification Aim:
The aim of this qualification is to recognise the application of a range of IT user skills and knowledge in the workplace, meeting employer workforce demands. The flexibility of the ITQ will enable individuals to adapt their skills for a specific work-based activity and / or employer requirement.

The ITQ allows for flexibility and choice. Learners and employers can identify the most appropriate units and levels of skills to meet their needs in the workplace, and candidates can have a range of competences recognised at lower or higher levels than the base level chosen, where appropriate.

This qualification can also incorporate elements from the internationally recognised ECDL qualification.


Facts and figures
Accreditation number
NQF level
Guided learning hours 60-70
LSC funding code 50061781
Accredited for age groups Pre-16, 16-18, 18+
Performance points 12.5
Percentage to threshold 10% towards Level 1
Credit value 9
Qualification renewal date


Qualification structure

Minimum credit value
Maximum credit value
Mandatory unit

Optional units
Two-thirds of optional unit credits at the level of the qualification

Minimum 6 credits at Level 1
Sector-specific units

ITQ units



Manual, evidence-based or automated testing options are available.


Who is this qualification appropriate for?

  • Pre-16
  • 16-18
  • 18+
  • NEETs
  • On FL catalogue
  • ALR funding available
Qualification withdrawal
Please note that following a review of our qualifications portfolio, we will be withdrawing some of our qualifications between now and December 2018. Please click on the link below for information on the full list of qualifications that we are withdrawing. If you have any questions regarding the qualifications that are being withdrawn, then we are happy to discuss it with you. Full contact details can also be found by clicking the link.
Changes to our qualifications portfolio