Who receives the award?

The award was established in memory of Professor Roger Needham (1935-2003) and is made annually for a distinguished research contribution in computer science by a UK based researcher who has completed up to 10 years of post-doctoral research.

2019 Roger Needham Lecture

Modelling and Verification using Automata Learning

Winner of the 2018 Roger Needham Award, Professor Alexandra Silva, a professor of algebra, semantics and computation at the University College London, was the speaker of the 2019 Roger Needham lecture.

Date: 4 June 2019
Venue: The Royal Society, London
Find out more and watch the video

Nominate for next year's award

Do you know someone who's been involved in ground-breaking research in the field of computer science?

Check out the criteria and how to nominate

About Roger Needham

Roger Needham pioneered the technique of protecting passwords using a one-way hash function. Among his theoretical contributions is the development of the Burrows-Abadi-Needham (BAN) logic. The Needham-Schroeder security protocol forms the basis of the Kerberos authentication and key-exchange system, and he also co-designed the TEA and XTEA encryption algorithms.

Professor Needham joined Cambridge's Computer Laboratory (then called the Mathematical Laboratory) in 1962, becoming its head in 1980. He was made a professor in 1981 and remained with the laboratory until his retirement in 1995.

Sponsored by Microsoft Research.