In 1971 the trustees of the British Computer Society appointed Dutch computer scientist, Edsger W. Dijkstra, our very first DistFBCS having approved the award of BCS Distinguished Fellowship a couple of years earlier.

Since then over 30 digital masterminds have received the prestigious title including the likes of Tim Berners Lee, Bill Gates, Vint Cerf, and Grace Hopper. They’re not all BCS members and they hail from different parts of the world but what they all hold in common is their profound contribution to the development of computing and the way in which society benefits from IT.

The impact of COVID-19 in the last two years has meant that the work of our Distinguished Fellows has never meant to so much to so many people. Digital innovation was at the heart of the support and recovery efforts; societies kept connected and economies kept running.

Nominations are now closed

The window has now closed for nominations.


More about nominating for Distinguished Fellowship

Eligible candidates

We welcome nominations from all backgrounds and from anywhere in the world. The nominee's contribution should be considered of major importance to the overall development of computing, and they will have gained substantial recognition over an extensive and sustained career.

Rules of submission

Our nomination period opens on 3 May 2022 and runs until 12pm on 17 June 2022. Anyone can be nominated, they don’t have to be a BCS member – and you don’t need to be a member to nominate either.

How to nominate

The nomination window is now closed.

Our Distinguished Fellows

Find out who’s received this prestigious award.

Roll of Distinguished Fellows