Who's eligible to receive the medal?

The Lovelace Medal recognises people whose research has contributed to significant advances in computing. Winners are chosen by an annual panel selected by the BCS Academy of Computing Board. The panel evaluates nominees from two categories; research and education, considering factors such as the originality, impact, and ethical implications in their work.

Find out more about the selection criteria

Eligible candidates

Nominations are accepted from anyone, anywhere in the world but it is expected that nominees are academic, industry or education professionals who have a direct connection with the UK. Nominators and nominees do not need to be BCS members.

Nominees will have had major, notable impact in their field, and be widely recognised for their excellence as well as their wider contribution to the computing community.

They will have furthered knowledge or public understanding, or driven a transformational change in their discipline. They may have made a breakthrough, opened a new area of research, or advanced the efficacy or availability of computing education, including through public policy.

There are no career stage restrictions or expectations with this prize, the emphasis is on impact.

Selection criteria

Selection of the Lovelace Medal winners is made by a Lovelace Medal Selection Panel appointed each year by the BCS Academy of Computing Board.

The Selection Panel will base their evaluations on the overall quality of relevant contributions and achievements by nominees, in relation to the selection criteria outlined below.


  • originality, significance and impact of research, innovation.
  • quality of publications and/or patents and/or software.
  • collaborations and teamwork, supporting the development of colleagues and encouraging wider collaboration.
  • consideration of ethical and societal implications within their research and its direction.
  • professional standing.


  • quality of contributions to and impact on availability and quality of educational provision.
  • raising the profile and reach of computing in the curriculum, within and across departments and disciplines.
  • scale and quality of computing talent that has been inspired, nurtured and developed through their efforts.
  • championing and advancing inclusion and diversity in computing education.
  • supporting the development of colleagues and encouraging wider collaboration.

The Lovelace Lecture

The winner of the Lovelace Medal is invited to present their research at the Lovelace Lecture, held the following year, where they're able to share their accomplishments and research.

Past lectures

Marta Kwiatkowska

Probabilistic model checking: ensuring accuracy in data-driven computing systems

Gordon Plotkin

Languages for learning

George Gottlob

Swift logic for big data and knowledge graphs

Andrew Blake

Machines that (learn to) see

Coming soon

We'll shortly be announcing this year's winner!

Meanwhile last year's winner will be presenting their work at the 2023 Lovelace Lecture in autumn — more details to follow.

How do I nominate?

You'll need to complete a nomination form telling us about your nominee's achievements and the impact they've had in the world of computing...

Have someone in mind?

Nomination window's closed for now, but stay tuned for updates

About Ada Lovelace

Augusta Ada King-Noel, Countess of Lovelace (1815-1852), was an extraordinary mathematician, scientist, and writer, whose legacy had a great impact on the world of computing. She is best known for her work on Charles Babbage's proposed mechanical general-purpose computer, the Analytical Engine.

Ada Lovelace’s work really was ahead of her time. She’s often credited with writing the world's first computer program, as she developed an algorithm for the Analytical Engine that envisioned the potential of these machines to perform tasks beyond just calculation, even though the machine was never actually built during her lifetime. Her contributions to the field and her recognition of the potential for computers to go beyond basic calculations, have rightfully earned her a place in history as a revolutionary figure in computer science.