Nominations are open for the following Royal Academy of Engineering 2017 prizes and medals:

  • Sir Frank Whittle Medal
    For an engineer in the UK whose sustained achievements have had a profound impact upon their engineering discipline.
  • Sir George Macfarlane Medal
    RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineer of the Year. Supported by the Worshipful Company of Engineers. A £3,000 cash prize awarded to five UK early-career engineers. From these five awardees, an overall winner will receive the Sir George Macfarlane Medal.
  • Colin Campbell Mitchell Award
    Up to a £6,000 cash prize for a team of engineers who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of any field of UK engineering within the last four years.
  • Rooke Award Medal
    For an individual, small team or project based in the UK that has supported the Academy’s aims through their initiative in promoting engineering to the public.
  • Major Project Award
    For a team of engineers, based in the UK, who have delivered a major engineering project that has had a substantial impact on society.

For further information, please email

The closing date for nominations is 13 February 2017.