From 29 to 31 May 2018, PRACE will organise the fifth edition of its Scientific and Industrial Conference – PRACEdays18 – under the motto “HPC for Innovation: when Science meets Industry” in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

PRACE initiated the “PRACE Ada Lovelace Award for HPC” at PRACEdays16, having Dr. Zoe Cournia, a Computational Chemist, Investigator – Assistant Professor at the Biomedical Research Foundation, Academy of Athens (BRFAA), Greece as the first successful winner.

Dr. Frauke Gräter of the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies and University of Heidelberg was awarded the second annual PRACE Ada Lovelace Award for HPC at PRACEdays17.

PRACE is happy to receive your nomination for the Award. The nomination process is fully open via this Call for Nominations published on the PRACE website and via different social media channels. Nominations should be sent to by Thursday 1 March 2018.

The winner of the Award will be invited to participate in the concluding Panel Session at PRACEdays18, and will receive a cash prize of €1000 as well as a certificate and an engraved crystal trophy.


A nomination should include the following:

  • Name, address, phone number, and email address of nominator (person making the nomination). The nomination should be submitted by a recognised member of the HPC community.
  • Name, address, and email address of the nominee (person being nominated).
  • The nomination statement addressing why the candidate should receive this award, should include a description of the first two criteria in detail within half page each (max 300 words each).
  • Copy of the candidate’s CV, certificates, listing publications (with indication of the h-index), honours, etc. should be provided.

Selection criteria

  • Outstanding impact on HPC research, computational science or service provision at a global level.
  • Role model for women beginning careers in HPC.
  • The winner of this award must be a young female scientist (PhD +10 years max, excluding parental leave) who is currently working in Europe or has been working in Europe during the past three years.

Selection Committee

The Selection Committee is composed of:

  • Claudia Filippi, Member of the PRACE Scientific Steering Committee (SSC), University of Twente, Faculty of Science and Technology, Netherlands
  • Erik Lindahl, Chair of the PRACE Scientific Steering Committee (SSC)
  • Lee Margetts, Chair of the PRACE Scientific Steering Committee (SSC)
  • Laura Grigori, Member of the PRACE Scientific Steering Committee (SSC), INRIA/University Pierre and Marie Curie, France), member of the Selection Committee since 2017
  • Suzanne Talon, Women in HPC member, CEO of Calcul Québec, Canada, member of the Selection Committee since 2017.

The committee will (partially) change every 2 years.