Ofqual approved

Available to study remotely

ESFA funded - 14-16 year olds

The ICDL Smart Digital e-safety qualification includes:

  • ICDL logoteacher resources and workbooks
  • learner resources and workbooks
  • automated testing
  • instant results
  • and, on successful completion, BCS level 1 certification

Who is it for?

The qualification has been designed for:

  • key stages 2 and 3 learners
  • learners with little or no digital skills knowledge

Key documents

Our qualification specification covers all three units.

The curriculum

The curriculum is divided into three units:

  • Unit 1: Starting
  • Unit 2: Building
  • Unit 3: Sharing

Each unit is made up of 10 lessons, and each lesson is approximately equivalent to one classroom hour and can be studied over 30 weeks, or most of an academic year.

Recommended guided learning hours: 30 hours

The units

Following successful completion of the three-unit curriculum, candidates will be able to:

  • Start using devices and applications responsibly and securely, locate information online, and create a simple research output.
  • Build skills and knowledge through creating online accounts and using common applications, finding and organising information, and creating and printing a well-structured report.
  • Share and develop content using more advanced research skills, select and manage applications, protect data and devices, create a variety of content as part of a broader project, interact safely and responsibly online, and manage their digital identity.

Key stage 2

The BCS Level 1 Smart Digital Award in e-Safety also supports parts of the KS2 Computing National Curriculum.

Use search technologies effectively, appreciate how results are selected and ranked, and be discerning in evaluating digital content

Select, use and combine a variety of software (including internet services) on a range of digital devices to design and create a range of programs, systems and content that accomplish given goals, including collecting, analysing, evaluating and presenting data and information

Use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable / unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact.


The qualification is assessed within a BCS Approved Centre or school, through three short online tests created by the ICDL Foundation and delivered using the BCS In-Application assessment platform and can be studied and taken remotely.

I want to deliver ICDL Smart Digital

Any centre or school wishing to have an in-depth conversation to address any questions not covered here, please contact your account manager, email bcssales@bcs.uk or call 01793 417445.