Who is it for?

  • Anyone involved in or affected by the development of IS / IT systems, including business and systems analysts, designers, developers and testers.

Entry requirements

  • None. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is recommended.

What will I learn?

This course provides candidates with an understanding of the principles of, and practical experience of using, industry best practice involved in systems development.

Specific learning objectives

A comprehensive range of topics are covered, including:

  • Introduction to systems development
  • Life cycle types and their rationales
  • Business analysis
  • Requirements engineering
  • Making a business case
  • Programming and development approaches
  • Systems modelling and specification techniques
  • Systems design
  • System architecture
  • Quality and testing
  • Implementation and changeover
  • Evaluation and maintenance
  • Software support tools

The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours:

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

Certification retirement
The BCS Foundation Certificate in Systems Development will be retired on 1 April 2021, with all resits to be completed by 1 May 2021.

The BCS Foundation Certificate in Digital Solutions Development will be launching on 30 November 2020.

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (recommended)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last three days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

Exam only (self study)

Ideal if you’re self-motivated and already know something about systems development.

How long will it take?

It usually takes a minimum of 21 hours to prepare for the exam.

Where do I sit my exam?

At any Pearson VUE test centre across the world.

How much does it cost?

Exam price: £192 (£160.00 + VAT)

Book your exam

What format is the exam?

  • One hour 'closed book' with 40 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 65% (26/40)

What's next?

Practitioner level certifications

Candidates wishing to progress their career pathway may wish to consider the BCS range of practitioner certifications, each of which will enhance your skills in their specific area of specialism.

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.