BCS Qualifications - leading the way for IT skills in organisations

BCS Qualifications offers a range of training to improve IT skills. Peter Leavy, strategic marketing manager for BCS Qualifications, gives an overview of what's on offer.

BCS qualifications can be divided into two types: training for full-time IT professionals and training for people who use IT in their jobs but not as the main focus.

If you are planning to go into a career in IT, then the first sort of qualifications, which are called ISEB qualifications, will be essential for your continuing professional development.

Once you start working, ISEB qualifications will help ensure that you keep your skills up-to-date and learn new ones. They will also be proof to employers of your professional attitude.

Some of the BCS user qualifications could also be useful to you as an IT professional. E-type, for example, can teach you touch-typing, a very useful skill.

If you are interested in using IT competently in your career but not as its main focus, BCS user qualifications - e-type, ECDL, e-Citizen, and BCS ITQ - can support you in making sure you get the most out of IT. An ECDL qualification, for example, will prove your ability as an all-round user of IT applications.

ISEB - essential qualifications for the IT professional

ISEB qualifications are industry-recognised and measure competence, ability and performance in many areas of IT, with the aim of raising industry standards, promoting career development and providing competitive edge for employers.

Qualifications are designed to be both accessible and relevant. They cover all major areas of IT including projects and business change, legal compliance and security, IT infrastructure, assets and services, solution development and delivery.

Thanks to close links with industry representatives and subject sponsors, they also encompass the latest technological advances and new methodologies.

ISEB qualifications are created by the very best in the industry - IT specialists who know how the industry works and where it's going. So IT professionals learn relevant and practical skills that will make an immediate impact on their career.

The ISEB portfolio covers key areas such as software testing, project management, business analysis, IT law and systems development. It also includes a range of qualifications based on ITIL® (the IT Infrastructure Library, which is regarded as the world standard in best practice guidelines), including service management, infrastructure management and application management essentials.

A recent survey showed that ISEB participants were from all levels in their organisation's career structures, taking foundation level to build key knowledge and moving up to manager level for senior staff - a testament to the increasing importance of ISEB qualifications. The business sectors represented were broad, including communications, retail and wholesale, public administration, health and social work, financial and banking, and education.

e-type - learning to touch type

Touch-typing is not just for secretaries and personal assistants. Anyone using a computer, at whatever level of competency, can greatly improve their speed, efficiency and accuracy by learning how to touch-type. Here are some of the benefits:

  • You'll become much faster and more accurate in everyday tasks, such as typing letters, documents and emails.
  • e-type has been specifically designed for the modern-day PC and keyboard user. It's easy to understand and you really can learn at your own pace - and at your own PC.
  • It's so user-friendly you'll be amazed at how quickly you can learn.
  • e-type is a recognised qualification that you can add to your CV and help build your career.
  • And you can impress your boss with your extra productivity.

e-Citizen - using the internet and email

e-Citizen is a fun and friendly way for people to learn how to use the internet and email and is available all across the country.

BCS ITQ - modules tailored to specific jobs

BCS ITQ is aimed at anyone using IT in their job. It is designed to build on existing skills and qualifications in the workplace whilst also encouraging new learning.

Its flexible structure and training package means that it can be tailored to ensure employees are trained in IT skills specific to the company they work for, so you can pick from a range of modules relevant to your role and the company you work for.

ECDL - competency in a range of IT skills

Do you want to know how to gain IT skills that can give you confidence and competency? Then join the 1.5 million people in the UK who have chosen ECDL as the way to learn them.

ECDL comprises seven modules: basic concepts of IT, using the computer and managing files, word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, databases, internet and email. The qualification provides the following benefits:

  • competency and confidence across a range of IT user skills;
  • help in finding employment by gaining and proving you have vital IT skills;
  • an internationally recognised qualification, available in over 125 countries;
  • requires no previous knowledge of computers;
  • help in building a career and qualification path, which you can then take to higher levels if you wish;
  • is a flexible and fun way of learning.

ECDL Advanced - taking IT user skills to a higher level

ECDL Advanced is the opportunity to take your IT user skills to a higher level. Covering four modules - word processing, spreadsheets, databases and presentations - it is an internationally recognised qualification.

Candidates that gain all four modules now also gain free additional certification as an ECDL Expert, which provides six months free membership to the BCS at AMBCS level.

For further information please contact BCS Qualifications on tel: 0845 300 4417, email: qualifications@hq.bcs.org.uk or visit www.bcs.org/qualifications.