Who is it for?

  • Anyone working or preparing to work in a service level management role or who uses a related process whether at a technical, operational, supervisory or managerial level.

Entry requirements

  • You must hold the Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management and we recommend you have at least a year’s experience in an IT service management environment or a few years’ experience within a specialist service management discipline.

What will I learn?

  • The course covers the following modules:

    • An introduction to service level management
    • Service level management process, based on industry best practices
    • Tools, methods and techniques
    • Service level management roles and responsibilities
    • Control, measurement and reporting activities
    • Analysis of service reports, availability reports and operational reports
    • Interfaces and dependencies
    • Planning, improvement and implementation


The syllabus includes training objectives, details of modules and learning hours, plus a recommended reading list:

Download our latest syllabus (PDF)

How do I get this certification?

Training and exam (self study)

Take this course with one of our accredited training providers.

How long will it take?

Classroom courses normally last three days.

Where can I study?

At a BCS accredited training provider near you.

How much does it cost?

Course prices vary depending on your chosen training provider and course format.

Find a provider

Exam only (self study)

Ideal if you’re self-motivated and already know something about service level management.

How long will it take?

It usually takes a minimum of 18 hours to prepare for the exam.

Where do I sit my exam?

At the BCS London office. To book this exam please contact us online or call +44 (0) 1793 417417.

How much does it cost?

Exam price: £192 (£160.00 + VAT)

Contact us online

What format is the exam?

  • 90 minute 'closed book' with 25 multiple choice questions
  • Pass mark is 64% (16/25)

This qualification is not regulated by the following United Kingdom Regulators - Ofqual, Qualifications Wales, CCEA Regulation or SQA.