Who receives the award?

Established in 1998, the Lovelace Medal is awarded for outstanding contribution to the understanding and advancement of computing.

Previous winners include worldwide web inventor Sir Tim Berners-Lee, Linux creator Linus Torvalds, and information retrieval pioneer Karen Spärck Jones.

2019 Lovelace Lecture

Languages for learning

Winner of the 2018 Lovelace Medal, Gordon Plotkin FRS FRSE MAE, a theoretical computer scientist in the School of Informatics at the University of Edinburgh delivered this year's lecture.

Date: Monday 4 March 2019
Venue: The Royal Society, London
Find out more and watch the video

Nominate for next year's award

Do you know someone who's advanced the field of computing?

Check out the criteria and how to nominate

About Ada Lovelace

Augusta Ada King-Noel, Countess of Lovelace (1815-1852) was the daughter of the poet, Lord Byron, and an accomplished mathematician, scientist and writer.

Today she’s chiefly known for her work on Charles Babbage's proposed mechanical general-purpose computer, the Analytical Engine.

Ada was the first to recognise that the machine had applications beyond pure calculation and created the first algorithm intended to be carried out by such a machine. As a result, she’s regarded by many as the first computer programmer.